Finance FAQ

Search:
Browse by Category:

 

Instructions / Hint: Either enter your search criteria above or browse the below selections.

Tax Collection

What is the Tax Sale Process?
In the State of New Jersey, the Tax Collector holds a tax sale each year for the prior year’s unpaid municipal charges, as required by state law.  A municipal charge is not limited to property taxes, it includes any unpaid municipal charge such as the Special Improvement District (S.I.D.) .YOUR PROPERTY IS NOT SOLD AT THE TAX SALE; A LIEN IS PLACED UPON IT.
           A Tax Sale List is published in the newspaper for four (4) weeks prior to the tax sale, the cost of such advertising is added to the delinquent amount owed.  The amounts due may be paid in full up to the date of the sale.
The lien holder pays the debt owed to the municipality by the assessed owner of the property in return for a guaranteed interest rate on the amount paid when the lien is redeemed. 
The issued tax sale certificate is the detailed receipt of what the lien holder purchased at the tax sale.  These liens should be recorded, by the lien holder, at the County Clerk’s Office in order to insure redemption of the lien if the property is sold.  Clear title cannot be obtained for a property with recorded liens on it. 
At the tax sale most liens are sold to a third party.  If there is not a third party interested in purchasing the lien the lien is thenstruck off to the municipality.  If a lien is held byThe City of Ocean City, they maybegin foreclosure proceedings six months from the date of the tax sale if the lien has not been redeemed. 
When a lien is purchased by athird party, theyhave a right to begin foreclosure proceedings two years from the date of the tax saleThe lien holder also has the right to pay subsequent taxes and other municipal charges that are billed to the property once they are delinquent and add them to the lien balance.  Liens must be redeemed in full with guaranteed funds. Cash,certified check or money order.
Assessed owners of property are ultimately responsible for their municipal charges Even if you are, through a mortgage company, escrowing for taxes.  New Jersey State Law is very clearYOU DO NOT NEED TO BE IN RECEIPT OF A BILL TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING IT.
The tax sale is usually conducted in October and is advertised in the Ocean City Sentinel. One may obtain a copy of the tax sale by sending a self addressed stamped envelope to the Tax Collector @ P.O. Box 208, Ocean City, NJ 08226 
Can I pay my taxes online?
  • A:Yes, tax payments can be made online. Click here for more details. You can pay through an automatic clearing house (ACH) withdrawal from your checking or savings account. This is a free service and can be accessed by block and lot and banking information. You will need your block and lot to access your information.
What discounts are available to Ocean City residents?
  • A:Veteran/Widow of a veteran deduction-must be an honorably discharged veteran from a specified time frame and a New Jersey resident. For a veteran deduction, proof of discharge will be needed. For a widow of a veteran, included with the above, a copy of the marriage and death certificate will be needed to accompany the application.
     
  • Senior deduction is for residents 65 years of age or older as of October 1 of the pre tax year, living in the residence they wish to claim, and their income does not exceed $10,000 a year, excluding some or all of their social security or certain pensions. Applications for either deduction can be picked up at the Collector's office
Important Dates
  • Taxes are due on the first of February, May, August and November of each year.
  • There is a ten calendar day grace period for each, with all payments due in our office no later than the 10th of the month they are due.
  • Ocean City does not accept postmark for tax payments.
Important Links Tax Collection Office